The NEW Emergency Management Information & Inventory Database questionnaire is online HERE!  You will need your roll number handy to complete the form.

Reeve’s Message - March 31, 2020

Camrose County is committed to protecting its staff and residents during this unprecedented time.  Our priority is maintaining the essential services that you rely on every day. Our staff continue to serve you. Know that your Division Councillors are in continual communication with each other, administration, and other governments to help us provide the best response for you. We may not be able to meet you face to face but know we are a phone call or email away to assist you. 

We want you to be assured that we are doing everything possible to reduce the risk of our essential services being disrupted by illness or required self-isolations.

Camrose County is built on its strong rural families who know how to support each other through difficult times.  Work together to help yourself, your family, your friends and your neighbours, we are all in this together.  This pandemic has changed our world, but it does not need to change our relationships with each other. Please keep communicating with us and let us know how we can help. The recovery from this situation both personally, financially, and as a community will need new ideas, community cooperation and patience from all of us.

Please keep up to date on the Covid-19 situation by following our website www.county.camrose.ab.ca and for provincial updates at www.alberta.ca/covid19. There is a lot of misinformation out there so make sure you are following reliable sources.

Reeve Cindy Trautman

Open Facilities

Closed Facilities

  • Protective Services
  • Road Maintenance
  • Water and Sewer Operations
  • Seed Cleaning Plant
  • Landfill and Transfer Stations
  • Playgrounds & Ice Rinks
  • Recreation Facilities
  • Community Halls
  • Main Office and Shop
  • ASB Office
  • Even though some of our staff are working from home, they are still working
  • This is a changing situation, so we will do our best to maintain our services while working within the requirements of the provincial and federal governments

March 27, 2020 Update

Effective immediately:

  1. Provincial Parks are closed to vehicle traffic, note the County parks will remain open unless we observe groups of more than 15 gathering in them, or people not observing the 2m physical distance separation
  2. Gatherings reduced from 50 to 15 people
  3. Non-essential businesses are closed
  4. All restaurants are closed for dine-in purposes, take-out and delivery are allowed
  5. A close proximity personal services have been closed. Ex: hair stylist, tattoo artist, massage, chiropractor, etc. 
  6. A non-emergency medical procedures & lab work have been postponed
  7. Rent relief has been set up by the Province

For details go to www.alberta.ca.

Playgrounds Closed Until Further Notice 

Following the advice of AHS on COVID-19, Camrose County has closed all playgrounds. Do not use any playground equipment; it has not be sterilized. Evidence shows that the coronavirus can last on plastic and metal surfaces for several days.

Everyone using our parks must maintain 2 metres (6 feet) of separation from people that you do not live with. In addition, gatherings of more than 15 people are not allowed per Alberta Health. When gathering you must still maintain 2m separation.

Essential Services Status

  • The County Peace Officers will remain on duty
  • The grader operators will continue to maintain the roads
  • Our utility operators will continue to ensure water and sewer services are maintained
  • Landfill & Transfer stations are operating within their normal hours
  • Agricultural Service Board continues to operate
  • Seed Cleaning Plant continues to operate

Contact the County 

Payments to the County

Can be made via online banking to your banking institution

  • Camrose County Taxes
  • Camrose County Utilities
  • Camrose County Other (for anything other than taxes or utilities)
  • Click  here for assistance with setting up online banking or contact the County at 780-672-4446.

By mailing a cheque or leaving it in the drop box at the front door of the County Administration Office. Please do not mail or drop off cash.

Provincial & Federal Coronavirus resources:

Small Business Resource Information:

Camrose County is maintaining a list of resources for businesses in the community. Contact us at ecdev@county.camrose.ab.ca if you have any questions about the resources available to you while we manage through this situation.

Bashaw & District Support Services:

BDSS has generated a website: http://www.bashawbriefs.com and has created a 24 hour support line Call  (780) 372-4074 or text (780) 678-9056.

Contact Information

If you have additional questions contact Reeve Cindy Trautman at 780-679-7390 or ctrautman@county.camrose.ab.ca or the Public Information Officer, Anjah Howard, at 780-678-3070 or ahoward@county.camrose.ab.ca.

Previous Updates

Welcome to Camrose County

Camrose County is a rural municipality located about a 40-minute drive along Highway 21 south east of Edmonton in East Central Alberta.

Physically, the municipality is approximately 56 km (35 miles) miles wide by 128 km (80 miles) long. Within its boundaries are a variety of landforms ranging from knob and kettle topography, flat prairie, including lakes, well treed regions, and the winding Battle River with its many deep coulees.

Within the boundaries of the County are the City of Camrose, the Town of Bashaw and the Villages of Bittern Lake, Bawlf, Edberg, Hay Lakes and Rosalind as well as the hamlets of Armena, Duhamel, Ferintosh, Kelsey, Kingman, Meeting Creek, New Norway, Ohaton and Round Hill.

Early settlers arrived in the area around the turn of the century from all parts of the world and began to shape today’s County by establishing farms and building roads, schools and communities. Railroads were a major factor in development. Villages and towns were established every eight miles along the railroads; the distance a farmer could haul grain with a horse drawn wagon. Today, communities proudly celebrate their heritage with many descendants of the original pioneers operating the original farms and businesses.

Agriculture is the backbone of the County. All forms of agriculture are practiced including intensive livestock operations, beef production, large scale grain and oilseed production along with a burgeoning local food initiative.

Industry is also located here using the network of 2600 km (1500 miles) of well-maintained roads, three railways, access to waterlines and a well educated, ambitious workforce.

The flourishing of Camrose County has been due to the talent, ingenuity and hard work of its residents and County staff through the years and this continues today.

The County operation is necessarily complex to provide services to its 8660 residents. Consequently, this website is long on detail and provides information relevant to its operation.

As well, the website has categories related to the social aspects of life listed under the heading “Communities”. Camrose County is also found on Facebook and on Twitter.

Welcome to Camrose County, where residents live, work, play and prosper.

The 2019 Property Tax Calculator is now available - Click here!